Vegetable Smoothie

Sip it! and feel fresh!

Sip it! and feel fresh!

I recently went on a detox diet, after excessive food and sweets I had during the festive season. Detox diet calls for no cooked food for 3 days! no non-veg food and preferably no dairy products. I do not like salads nor am I a fan of fruits, but I had to try this diet  so I experimented with whatever options I had. Vegetable smoothie was one such experiment 🙂

Ingredients:

Bottle Gourd (dudhi/lauki) – 2 big chunks

Carrot – 1/2

Tomato – 1/2

Mint Leaves – 1tbsp

Black Salt – 1/2 tsp

Sugar – 1/2 tsp (can use sugar free)

Lime Juice – 1 tsp

Method:

Blend all the ingredients in a blender. You can either strain the juice with a sieve or serve it without straining. The fiber content is more if not strained.

Bottle gourds is low in saturated fat and cholesterol. It is also high in dietary fiber.  Carrots are rich in Vitamin A and tomatoes contain lycopene while mint helps in digestion.

Serve cold, best if had early morning.

